Jackson County's "Safer at Home" Recovery Plan which provides guidelines for reopening is now in effect. Stay up to date on the guidelines and local information at cityofLS.net/coronavirus.

Public Works Organizational Structure

Public Works is one of the most diverse departments in the City and is comprised of five divisions: 

  • Airport
  • Engineering/Administration 
  • Fleet
  • Operations
  • Solid Waste

The department is led by a director and two deputy directors, with a manager/superintendent for each of the five divisions. The department has nearly 100 employees who work out of three locations throughout the City: City Hall, Lee's Summit Municipal Airport and the Maintenance Facility.