Cultural Commission

Purpose Statement

The Cultural Commission elevates the public realm by advising the City Council on recommendations regarding arts and cultural programming, community aesthetics, and historic preservation issues relevant to citizens and visitors.

*Cultural Commission will serve as the Historic Preservation Commission (statutory requirement).

Key Functions Summary

  • To advise on and support the implementation of artistic, cultural and historic initiatives coordinated through the relevant City departments, commissions or entities.
  • Work with other departments and entities to encourage the incorporation of artistic, cultural, historic, tourism and beautification efforts into the City’s overall design, function and economic development when possible.
  • Make recommendations to City Council and Administration on ways to increase public awareness of the cultural and historical resources that make our City unique.
  • Serve as the City’s Historic Preservation Commission for the purpose of maintaining the City’s status as a Certified Local Government with the State Historic Preservation Office.
  • Advise on public art initiatives and policies (collections, monuments, gateways, etc.).


  • Membership will be comprised of thirteen (13) Lee’s Summit residents each serving a three-year term commencing from the date of appointment.
  • Founding members will be appointed to one, two or three-year staggered terms. 
  • Members should demonstrate an understanding of history, humanities, fine art, performing art, public art, natural resources or cultural resources.
  • At least five members shall have a demonstrated interest, competence or knowledge in historic preservation. (Historic Preservation Commission continuation).

Established by Ordinance 9536 on November 1, 2022.



Dave Eames, Chair
Hunter Gale
Stephanie Smith
Cole Soucie
Alexis Allen
James Hennequin
Gary Keshner
Linda Chubbuck
Bernadette Basham
Erlene EC Flowers
Sara Taylor
Jeanine Thill
Keith Townsend

Department Liaison

Visit Cultural Arts

Contact the Commission