Parks & Recreation Board

Current Parks & Recreation Board

Image of Lawrence Bivins
Lawrence Bivins
Image of James Huser
James Huser
Vice President
Image of Samantha Shepard
Samantha Shepard
Image of Mindy Aulenbach
Mindy Aulenbach
Bernadette Basham
Image of Casey Crawford
Casey Crawford
Jon Ellis
Wesley Fields
Image of Tyler Morehead
Tyler Morehead

To contact the Parks and Recreation Board please email


The Parks and Recreation Board wishes to ensure those interested parties are afforded the opportunity to make comments in Board meetings. LSPR Board meetings are held the fourth Wednesday of each month beginning at 6:00pm(November and December are combined and usually held early December) at 220 SE Green Street. In the Board meeting, the public is permitted to speak during the "comments from the public" portion of the meeting by following the below procedure:


  • Fill out and submit the public participation online form below or print and fill out the pdf public participation form.
  • Submit it to the department at least 5 working days before the meeting.
  • Then the item/person will be placed on the agenda and given five minutes.

FY21 Annual Report   


September 28, 2022 Park Board Agenda           September 28, 2022 Park Board Packet


Past Parks & Recreation Board Honor Roll since 1968.


Kay Abrahamson, Don Allen, Paula Belser, Diane Black, Dan Blackwell, James Boughan, Mike Bowles,  William Boyd, Jim Brockman, Walter Breuer, Bob Busby, Karen Cain, Daniel Caldwell, Jeff Carey, Beverly Cassity, Bill Childers, Charles Clifton, Jack Clingenpeel, Jana Cummings, Hope Davis, Bonnie Douglas, Jim Drake, Mac Dumler, Oral Flippen, Richard Forbes, Ruthie Funk, Steve Hardin, Tom Hardin, Helen Hatfield, Doug Hatridge, Winton Huston, Brian Hutchin, Max Jewell, Karen Johnson, Kenneth Jones, Leonard Jordan, Nancy Kelley, Richard Kelly, Andrew Kuhar, Mary Laird, Jim Mack, George Martin, William Mathews, Marly McMillen, Dorothy Miller, Robert Newell, Frank Nugent, John O’Bryant, Jim Osborne, J.W. Page, Marjorie Perkins, Ralph Powell, Thomas Powell, Garey Reeves, John Richardson, Everett Schofield, Joe Sell, Harold Schaffer, Gunter Stein, Russell Stokes, Mike Stuckey, Steve Swanson, Lee Thomas, Tom Tougas, Joe Turney, Ken Urion, Nick Walker, Tom Weir, Wes Westmoreland, Tom Wilson, Randy Woods, Fred Woolf 



To provide our community with outstanding recreational services, facilities, and parks.


Lee’s Summit Parks and Recreation is an extraordinary team of employees and volunteers dedicated to providing quality, innovative, and comprehensive recreational services, facilities and parks.

We are committed to engaging and serving all our citizens through benefit based activities and parks that are representative of the best practices of our profession.

We excel in patron service, responsible use of our fiscal and natural resources, and building our volunteer and community partnerships.

Our success is measured by the quality of life enjoyed by our citizens.


Lee’s Summit Parks and Recreation will continually provide Lee’s Summit with a comprehensive range of Parks and Green Space, Facilities and Centers, and Programs and Activities that appeal to the diverse interests of our residents, thus enhancing their ability to enjoy the high quality of life that our city is recognized for.

Guidelines for Public Participation

Lee's Summit Parks and Recreation Board Meetings

Lee’s Summit Parks and Recreation Board Regular meetings are generally held the fourth Wednesday of each month beginning at 6:00pm, in the Strother Conference Room at City Hall, 220 SE Green Street, Lee’s Summit, Missouri 64063. These meetings are open to the public; all citizens and interested parties are encouraged to attend.


The Parks and Recreation Board strives to ensure all interested parties are afforded the opportunity to make comments in Board meetings.


In order to efficiently manage Agendas and allow for sufficient time to address all business items as well as public comments, a “Comments from the Public” agenda item is included for each meeting. Members of the public who wish to speak during this portion of the meeting shall follow the procedure below to be included on the agenda:

  • Fill out a Public Participation Form, available online at or by contacting the Administrative Offices of LSPR
  • Submit the form to the Administrator of Parks and Recreation at the meeting at which you wish to speak before the meeting is called to order.

Members of the public who follow the procedures outlined above will be placed on the Agenda in the Public Comments portion of the applicable meeting and will be allotted five (5) minutes to speak.


Questions or concerns should be directed to the Administrative Offices of LSPR.


Form for Public Participation


Check us out on social!
Stay Informed
Lee's Summit Parks and Rec
  • Address: City Hall: 220 SE Green, Lee's Summit, MO 64063
  • Phone: 816-969-1500
  • FAX: 816-969-1515
Frequently Asked Questions
  • To get answers to frequently asked questions check out the Parks FAQ page
Copyright 2022 City of Lee's Summit Site Policies | Accessibility
      Login   |   Site Map