The Lee's Summit Fire Department consists of six divisions:

  • Administration is responsible for the administration and oversight of the entire department. 
  • The Communications Center operates a regional fire and emergency service communications center. The center serves as the focus for all city communications, other than police communications. The center also provides communication services on a contractual basis to the Lake Lotawana, Lone Jack, Fort Osage, Sni-Valley, Western Cass, West Peculiar, Prairie Township Fire, and Pleasant Hill Fire Protection Districts. The center also serves as the Region A communication center for 13 counties during statewide disasters.
  • Operations responds to all types of fires, emergency medical incidents, rescue and hazardous material incidents, and also coordinates the city's response to city-wide emergencies.  
  • Fire Prevention oversees the department's loss reduction activities, which include fire and hazardous materials. This division also oversees business inspections, plan reviews, fire investigations, juvenile fire-setter intervention, safety education programs in local schools, and adult public education.
  • Support Services is responsible for budgeting, equipment maintenance and purchasing, station maintenance, and acquisition of equipment and supplies.
  • Training is responsible for hiring personnel and training department personnel in emergency medical services, fire suppression, technical rescue and hazardous materials.

Organizational Chart