The Lee's Summit Beautification Commission

The Lee's Summit Beautification Commission is a volunteer organization within the Lee's Summit Parks and Recreation Department. The Commission is dedicated to enhancing the overall appearance, environmental awareness and livability of Lee's Summit.

LS Beautification Commission on facebook



Interested in Joining the Beautification Commission?

Fill out the City's Committee Interest Form, located here!

News Release
August 17, 2017
Written by Kim Fritchie, Chairperson, Lee’s Summit Beautification Commission
Contact number:  816-456-2224

Mayor Randy Rhoads of Lee’s Summit, signed the Monarch Pledge Tuesday, August 8, at the Lee’s Summit Beautification Commission’s Annual Landscape Contest Awards at the Gamber Center.  A group of more than 40 citizens including contestants in the contest, Lee’s Summit Parks and Recreation staff, and Beautification Commission members were on hand to witness the Mayor signing the pledge to commit to providing habitats throughout Lee’s Summit for the Monarch butterfly. 

As a part of the pledge, the City of Lee’s Summit agrees to communicate the efforts to provide habitats for the Monarchs.  One such opportunity will be October 10 at 7 p.m. at the Gamber Center.  Parks staff and Beautification Commission members will provide an informative presentation on the Right of Way Beautification Initiative that has recently begun in strategic areas in Lee’s Summit.  The public is invited to learn about the steps to beautifying Lee’s Summit and creating a Monarch habitat at the same time.

A pivotal contributor to this initiative was Mary Nemecek of the Burroughs Audubon Society of Greater Kansas City.  She wrote the $20,000 grant to plant 40 acres of right of way area in Lee’s Summit with native wildflowers and milkweed to draw the Monarchs. 

To locate more information on the Monarch Pledge, details are provided on the National Wildlife Federation website.  Questions regarding this presentation should be directed to Andrew Carr of Lee’s Summit Parks and Recreation, 816-969-1533. 

Photo Identification:
From left:  Kim Fritchie, Randy Cain, Charlotte Lea, Andrew Carr, Joe Snook, Mayor Randy Rhoads, Robert Sanchez, Carol Rothwell, Sue Forbes, and Lila Raymond

The Beautification Commission meets the first Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. at City Hall in the Strother Room.

Congrats to our 2016 Landscape Winners!

The Beautification Commission would like to thank all the entries in the 14th Annual Lee’s Summit Landscape Contest.  Commission members judged the entries on June 20-21 and were impressed all the efforts to beautify property, neighborhoods, and City of Lee’s Summit!

The commission recognized each participant who submitted an entry and presented awards to the place winners in each category at the Lee’s Summit City Council Meeting on September 3. The participants then took part in a reception following the presentation. The 2015 Landscape Contest results are listed below, pictured are the first place winners.

1. Roberta Prudden- Raintree Lake
2. Kim Naylor - Bent Tree Bluffs
3. Larry Crisp - St.Andrews/Lakewood

Back Yard
1. Ruth Charpie
2. Carol Quinn
3. Sue & Don Forbes
Honorable Mention: Kurt & Eileen Fratzke, Pat & Ji Henseik

1. Lynn Canning
2. Darlene Barnard
3. Constanza Savysky

Front Yard
1. Ileasha Matthews/Jack & Sherri Comfort
2. Wayne & Debbie Busse
3. Rita Duvall
Honorable Mention: Greg & Jodelle Burwell, Pam Lilly

Water Garden
1. Kay Morris
2. Linda Cline
3. Anne Rose Mumm

Creative Garden
1. Kelly & Dave Eames
2. Jim Schultz
3. Jo Nelson

Before & After
1. Freya Flick
2. Sally Winship
3. Meagan Ingold

Get Involved!


A beautification program sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Beautification Commission. A “Spot” can be your neighborhood, schoolyard, a vacant lot, a traffic circle or any Spot that you are interested in beautifying. Anyone is invited to Adopt-A-Spot including individuals, families, youth groups, faith communities, school clubs, and businesses, to name a few.

For more information on how to get involved, contact us!

Contacts & Links

Gateway Master Plan

Gateway Master Planning Task Force was formed in 2007 consisting of community leaders, city staff, and business . Study was conducted by the LSBC to introduce concepts for gateway and community entry monumentation throughout Lee’s Summit. The final report and summary was completed in March 2008 and was endorsed by City Council, LS Arts Council, LS Beautification Commission, Lee’s Summit Parks and Recreation Board, and Lee’s Summit Chamber of Commerce.

Commission Members

Kim Fritchie, Chairman Bruce Holiman
Randy Cain Charlotte Lea
Sarah DeBray Lila Raymond
Tanya Forbes Carol Rothwell

Lee's Summit Parks and Rec
  • Address: City Hall: 220 SE Green, Lee's Summit, MO 64063
  • Phone: 816-969-1500
  • FAX: 816-969-1515
Frequently Asked Questions
  • To get answers to frequently asked questions check out the Parks FAQ page
Copyright 2018 by City of Lee's Summit
      Login   |   Site Map