Home button
Site map button
Email button
FAQ button
Font Size
Small font
Medium font
Large font
816 969-1000
Content Manager



Select the following link of the County in which you reside for voting information, such as:

  • What is on the Ballot?
  • Where do I vote?

Jackson County Election Board

Cass County Election Authority

View the Election Calendar by visiting: State of Missouri Secretary of State

Municipal Elections

Elected Officials History | Mayor | City Council | Municipal Judges | Past Elections | 2014 291/50 Hwy GO BondCouncil District Map | City Clerk's Office | Public Notices | Search which District you Live

Elections for Municipal Officials serving the City of Lee’s Summit are held in even-numbered years.  Terms for all elected officials are four years in length.  With an eight-member Council, terms for half the Council and one municipal judge will expire every even-numbered year.  The position of Mayor is also a four-year term.  No councilmember or mayor may serve more than two consecutive terms.  There are no limits for municipal judges. 

The 2016 General Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, April 5, 2016.  The first day for candidate filing is Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 8 a.m.  The last day for candidate filing is Tuesday, January 19, 2016 at 5 p.m. 

The positions open will be Councilmembers District 1 – 4 and Judge Div. 263.  Councilmembers Bob Johnson (District 4) and Allan Gray (District 2) will reach their term limits with this election.  Councilmembers Rob Binney (District 1) and Derek Holland (District 3) can choose to run again in this election. 

On Tuesday, December 15, 2015, interested candidates began filing at 8 a.m. at the City Clerk’s office located at City Hall.  Filing can be done Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. until January 19, 2016.  No additional filings will be taken after 5 p.m. on Tuesday, January 19, 2016. 

  • Lee’s Summit is a Charter form of government.  Qualifications for candidates filing for office in Lee’s Summit are included in the City Charter, Article III
  • The City Clerk presents candidates with forms to complete and sign in her presence, affirming that the candidate meet the requirements.​

Candidates who have filed as of January 19, 2016 at 5:00 p.m. for Municipal Office are listed below (candidate filing is now closed):

District 1 Councilmember
 Franklin Tatro  108 SW Noel Street, 64063 
 Rob Binney  503 NW O'Brien, 64063 
 Susan Coffman 306 NE Corder, 64063  
District 2 Councilmember
 Craig Faith 211 SW Opal Drive, 64081
District 3 Councilmember
 Todd Haynes 304 NE Parks Edge Place, 64064
 Phyllis Edson

205 NW Spruce, 64064

 James Lloyd 300 NE Dartmore Court, 64064
District 4 Councilmember
 Amy Fox 1432 NE Whitestone, 64086
 Melissa Garris 125 SE Battery Point, 64063 
 Chris Moreno  2428 SE 5th Street, 64063
Judge, Division 263
James Tobin
307 NE Stanton Lane, 64064
Amanda Robinson 328 NE Landings Drive, 64064

Search which District you Live

If you have questions, please e-mail the City Clerk at Denise.Chisum@cityofLS.net or 969-1005.  

General Election Information

Absentee Voting: 

Absentee Voting Eligibility

Resident of Jackson County outside the corporate limits of the city of Kansas City.

You MUST have one of the following reasons for voting absentee: 

  • Absence from your voting jurisdiction on election day

  • You are incapacitated due to illness, injury or physical disability or you assist someone with illness, injury or disability

  • Religious belief or practice

  • Employment by an election authority

  • Incarceration

Missouri does NOT have Early Voting - only Absentee Voting is permitted.

Absentee Voting begins on the sixth Tuesday prior to the day of the election

Absentee Voting in Person:

JCEB Offices - 215 N. Liberty, Independence, MO 64050

Absentee Voting by Mail:   

Overseas Citizens and Military – go to http://jcebmo.org/militaryand-overseas  for special instructions.

Information on registration for Jackson County residents can be found on this web site:  http://jcebmo.org/registration
Cass County residents can find information at:  http://www.casscounty.com/clerk/clerk.html