Home button
Site map button
Email button
FAQ button
Font Size
Small font
Medium font
Large font
816 969-1000
Enter Title

Raising Awareness About What it Means to Be A Community for All Ages

What is a Community for All Ages?

A community for all ages is one designed to be more welcoming to residents of all ages.  It is a community that is more vibrant, healthy and prosperous.  The First Suburbs Coalition (FSC) and the KC Communities for All Ages Initiative (KCC) developed the Communities for All Ages Recognition Program to recognize communities that have taken steps to become a Community for All Ages.

What has Lee’s Summit done so far?

  • June 23, 2016 – The Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) presented the Communities for All Ages Program to City Council.  A Resolution of Support for the Communities for All Ages Program was passed.
  • July 7, 2016 – The City Council adopted Resolution No. 16-16, A Resolution Acknowledging, Supporting, and Promoting the First Suburbs Coalition, KC Communities for All Ages, and Mid-America Regional Council’s Communities for All Ages Initiative and Recognition Program.
  • June 27, 2017 – MARC and the City of Raymore made presentation to the City’s Management Team and the Planning Commission.
  • July 12, 2017 – MARC presented the Economic Impact Analysis of the Kansas City Region’s 65+ Population to Lee’s Summit’s Community & Economic Development Committee (CEDC).
  • July 17-August 18, 2017 – Lee’s Summit conducted community-wide age-friendly survey.  Survey results can be found under "resources" on this page. 

What’s next?

The survey will not only help the City become aware of how the residents are feeling, but it will also be used to help the City be recognized by MARC, Community for All Ages recognition program.  The Community for All Ages recognition program is a three tiered level consisting of Bronze, Silver, and Gold.  Right now Lee’s Summit is in the process of obtaining the Bronze level.  To obtain these levels we will follow these next steps:

  1. Utilize a subcommittee to help assess our community, the results from the survey, and issue a report based on the findings and recommendations.  This level will be a long process, but it will be beneficial to have all the “needs” up front and will help us receive the Silver level.
  2. After the assessment, a plan of how we are going to implement the “needs” will be adopted.  This adoption stage is important because it demonstrates the City’s commitment to implementing the plan.  After the adoption then the City will be awarded the Gold level.
  3. The final step is maintaining the work that we have done.  Not only will this help us keep the awards that we have worked so hard to earn, but also so that our community keeps progressing in a positive direction.


Lee’s Summit Population: 10 Year Comparison

  • In 2010, seniors – defined as the population 65 years of age and older – were 12% of the Kansas City region’s population.  That figure is expected to increase to 20% by 2030.  As a result, the population 65 and older will approximately double between 2010 and 2030 bringing their total to nearly one-half million.

Thank you for all of your participation and interests in helping us become an age-friendly community! Please keep a look out for more information on how we are progressing on this adventure and how you can help us of become a Community for All Ages!

Three levels of recognition and requirements

1. Bronze — Raising Awareness

Governing body had adopted a resolution indicating its intent to become a Community for All Ages

  • Lee’s Summit’s City Council adopted Resolution 16-16 on July 7, 2016.
  • One or more presentations made to governing body and relevant commissions (planning commission, strategic planning committee, aging task force, etc.) on becoming age friendly and the Communities for All Ages program.
  • June 23, 2016 – Introduction to the Communities for All Ages Program presented to City Council.
  • June 27, 2017 – Presentation to Management Team and Planning Commission, which is also serving as a community wide meeting.

2. Silver — Assessment

Meet the Bronze Awareness Level

  • Form a Community for All Ages committee of elected officials, staff, and community members (tasks maybe distributed to an existing committee).  Members will use the Community for All Ages Checklist to conduct a self-assessment of our community and issue a report based on the findings.

3. Gold — Adopt and Implement Plans

Meet the Bronze Awareness and Silver Assessment level criteria

  • Adopt Communities for All Ages Plan or include a Community for All Ages component in major local plan, such as a comprehensive plan, strategic plan or park plan.

After completing each level it is the duty of the community to maintain the recognition level that it has achieved.

The community must continue working on making it a Community for All Ages, by moving to the next level and demonstrating a practical investment in infrastructure, services or programming identified in the Community for All Ages plan.

If the community fails to meet the maintenance standards it will forgo its recognition and any benefits that would have been gained.

We welcome all demographics and ages to join us on this journey in making our community a Community for All Ages!